Lingbo Ma


for Alto Saxophone and Piano

The Sonata, composed in 2019, comprises three movements. The weightiest first movement is made up of a simple ascending scale motive which is developed melodically, harmonically and texturally. The second slow movement explores a hollow and solitary sound. The modified ascending scale motive and the use of notes from the harmonic series play an important role in this movement. Performers should strive for a distant and calm yet slightly bewildering feeling. The third movement is fugal. The compelling energy stays active until the very end.

The piece was written for my saxophonist friend, Chuze Sun, who also premiered it.

- Lingbo Ma


Lingbo Ma

Product Details


Instrumentation:Alto Sax and Piano

Series:Music of Our Time

Year Composed: 2019

Duration: 12'

Score: 1

Parts: 1

Purchase Options

Download Only
Printed Music Only
Download + Printed

*No tax or shipping on digital-only items

Movements and Recordings

Artist: Chuze Sun and Lingbo Ma

Sonata (complete)

Suggestions for you:

View Cart (0)